Raid Ant and Roach Barrier Spray

$48.99

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Raid Max Bug Barrier and Killer Spray, Prevents Listed bugs for up to 12 months, 30 Oz - $48.99
Price history
×
Price history for Raid Max Bug Barrier and Killer Spray, Prevents Listed bugs for up to 12 months, 30 Oz
Latest updates:
  • $48.99 - 27 September 2021
  • $59.99 - 19 September 2021
  • $49.48 - 18 September 2021
  • $53.23 - 12 September 2021
  • $54.56 - 9 September 2021
  • $55.31 - 3 September 2021
  • $53.86 - 28 August 2021
Since: 28 August 2021
  • Highest Price: $59.99 - 19 September 2021
  • Lowest Price: $48.99 - 27 September 2021
Last Amazon price update was: 27 September 2021 22:38
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Getting rid of ants, roaches, and other bugs can be close to impossible. That’s why finding the right product can save you so much time and money. We’ve been reading great things about this one, so we decided to see for ourselves whether the rumors are true. If you’ve been trying to get a pest-free household, read our Raid Ant and Roach Barrier Spray review to find out whether it will be a solution to your problem.

Overview

Here’s a short overview of the important pros and cons for this spray before we deliver all our thoughts:
Pros

  • It’s not harsh
  • Indoor and outdoor use
  • Good customer service

Cons

  • Smells
  • Doesn’t solve the problem permanently
  • Doesn’t work immediately

What is Raid Ant and Roach Barrier Spray Made of?

The ingredient list for this Raid Ant and Roach Barrier Spray includes 0.03% Deltamethrin and 99.97% other ingredients. Deltamethrin is the active pesticide that actually creates the barrier and keeps the bugs away. It’s safe for people as long as you’re following the instructions.

Although the name suggests that it keeps ants and roaches away, this is a spray that works on other insects, including flies, crickets, spiders, fleas, scorpions, firebrats, stink bugs, boxelder bugs, ticks, mosquitoes, small flying moths, ground beetles, firebrats.

It comes in a red bottle packaging with a black spray and nozzle. There is a handle in the front part of the bottle that you need to press for it to spray. There are also settings on the nozzle that will help you to better navigate the spray by twisting and turning it.

Our Raid Ant and Roach Barrier Spray Review

Ants, roaches, beetles, bugs are such a serious problem many households struggle with. That’s why we take the job of testing these types of products even more seriously. We want to share every single detail with you, starting with the scent to the ease of use.

Scent (7.8/10)

The problem we have with this product is a fake advertisement. On the packaging, you’ll see that it’s not supposed to leave an odor, which is very misleading. There is a smell, not a terrible one, but it does exist.
Everyone who was looking for an odor-free product and bought this one is probably disappointed. Since the smell wasn’t too bad, and it didn’t persist for a long time, we decided to use the product still to see if it’s worth our money.

Since the Raid and Roach Barrier Spray is relatively odor-free, but not 100%, we give it a 7.8 out of 10 for scent. Also, the smell was not harsh, so that’s another reason why we can tolerate it. However, it’s not entirely free of odor, which Raid should consider listing on the packaging.

Thickness (6.4/10)

This is not a thick product! The spray bottle is filled with liquid. We used around three pulls per square foot until each spot was moist but not dripping.

One of the best things about the spray is that it reaches far, so you don’t have to bend or get too close to the bugs. People who are repelled by insects will appreciate this feature. You can do the job while maintaining a distance, ensuring that the pesticide doesn’t get on your skin or clothes.

Since it’s not thick, the application process can be time-consuming, especially if you have to cover larger surfaces. Spraying all over the house and outside of it will make your hand hurt. At least it did that to us. Plus, you’ll be out of most of the product, with a little left to use in the future.

As long as a product does its job, we’re not concerned whether it’s thick or not. This one is far from thick. It’s actually a liquid that looks like water. The only difference is the tolerable smell that’s not even supposed to be there.

After spraying for hours, our thickness score is 6.4 out of 10.

Ease of Use (8.2/10)

This product is meant to be used both indoors and outdoors. As recommended by the brand, you should spray along window frames, doors, and floorboards indoors and your home’s foundation. If there are any cracks and spots that are hard to get, also use it there.

Following the instructions, we turned on the spray and started targeting all the points in and around the house. Thankfully, the spray is precise, and you can easily control it. It won’t create a flood in your home or around it. But, what we noticed is that we had to spray all of the surfaces all over again for the Raid Ant and Roach Barrier Spray to do the job.

There’s not much science going into using a spray bottle. There is a handle that you need to press for the nozzle to release the spray. When it comes to the nozzle, many people don’t know how to work it. Maybe that’s one of the reasons why there are numerous complaints that their spray is not working.

There are three separate functions on the nozzle, and all you have to do is turn it and set it to the one you prefer. You’ll see that you can choose between ‘spray,’ ‘straight shoot,’ and ‘off.’

There are a few disclaimers you need to know about, especially if you tend to skip reading the instructions. It’s already a given that you should keep the spray away from kids and pets. Since it can be used for pet fleas, don’t ever think about spraying it straight on your pet. Also, don’t spray it in the air or close to your face.

Make sure that you protect yourself as well. When spraying, you can put on gloves so that it doesn’t get on your skin and if it gets on the clothes, throw them in the washing machine right away. We mentioned that the spray squirts far, that should make things easier for you. After you’re done with it, wash your hands very well with soap and rinse them with hot water.

Don’t ever let it get near food or drinks. Take all the food you have out and store it in the fridge or cabinets before applying the pesticide. Also, protect all the surfaces where you place food, especially kitchen counters. If there are areas and cracks in the home where pests hide, don’t forget to spray there.

Remember only to apply the spray when it’s not raining outside or when it’s not windy. Water and wind can easily disperse the pesticide, and it won’t do you any good. Another way to protect the environment is not using it near drainage ditches, storm drains, fish, electrical equipment, or your garden. If you have planted any crops, avoid close contact with the Raid Ant and Roach Barrier Spray.

Effectiveness (8.4/10)

Contrary to popular opinion that this product should kill bugs, ants, roaches, its purpose is to keep them out. That’s why it’s called Raid Ant and Roach Barrier Spray. It will not kill insects on the spot, but it will repel them away from your home.

Don’t expect the pesticide to work right away. After the first layer of spraying we didn’t see any changes. That’s why we felt the need to spray all over again and wait for the pesticide to work.

Although we expected to get rid of ants and roaches completely, that didn’t happen. They were gone for about two weeks, but they came back. The same thing happened both in our house and in our garage.

You won’t find the dead roaches or ants right next to your door or the spot where they enter from. They will pass the barrier, and that’s why you’ll probably notice them a little further away from where you’ve sprayed.

Unfortunately, it requires multiple uses for it to be effective, and it can be time-consuming. Just when you think that all those nasty bugs are gone, no thanks to the spray, they appear again. For us, the third time was a charm. So, after spraying the same spots three times in a row, we finally got rid of our problem. However, that’s not all, folks. They were back after only ten days. What a headache, right?

Value for Money (6.4/10)

There are so many things that we liked and disliked about this spray, so it’s time to get into detail.
You may ask, ‘Is this product worth my dollars’? If you need a spray that will act as a barrier that won’t smell awful and for hours, this might be. Be prepared to use it multiple times before it solves your pest problem.

When we consider all things, this is not the best barrier spray in the category. There are far more efficient products that will probably solve your problem faster. What most people forget to think about is the percentage of pesticide present in the solution or the strength of the solution. If the ratio is higher, you’re exposing yourself and your family to stronger chemicals. It’s also a given that those high concentrations will also work faster and be more robust.

If you don’t like their product by any chance, you can turn to their customer service and get a refund. They are so fast to reply and attend to your issues.

Final verdict 7.4

Will we be buying the Raid Ant and Roach Barrier Spray again? It is probably yes, but just to have it around if we need it, and we don’t want to opt for harsher alternatives. The smell is not irritating and is barely there. However, we wish it wasn’t advertised as an odor-free product.

Next, the fact that you have to spray a lot to cover bigger surfaces is draining. Get ready for a lot of work if you want to go all over the house with the spray. In general, it’s not hard to use, and it’s safe as long as you follow instructions.

This is a useful product, but you have to be patient. Since it acts as a barrier, you won’t see dead bugs right away. In our opinion, it’s just too much work for the short effects that it offers. We wasted most of it in a single-use, that’s why we’re still considering whether we’ll be buying again.

Since it’s not a long-term solution, maybe next time we’ll invest in a more expensive product whose effects last for at least a month. With this one, the bugs were back after almost two weeks. Doing the same process repeatedly can be so tiring, especially if you have to do it so often.

The final word is a 7.4 out of 10.

[FAQ’s] Consumer Questions & Answers

Will this product kill ants and roaches?
The product is meant to keep ants, roaches, spiders, and more away from your house. It won’t kill them right after spraying, but if they cross the barrier, that’s when they’ll get killed.

Does it work right away?
With the Raid Ant and Roach Barrier Spray, you have to be patient. As we mentioned, it doesn’t kill insects on the spot. That’s not its primary goal. So, if you see ants moving despite spraying over them, it’s completely normal.

How often can I use it?
Limit the use to a maximum of once per week, as stated by the manufacturer. From our experience, a single round of spraying did not do the job.

Is it safe to use around pets?
You can use it to treat areas where the pets rest, but you should never spray directly on your pet. Take the pet to safety while you’re treating the areas and wait for some time until the pesticide is dry.

7.4 Total Score

Scent
7.8
Thickness
6.4
Ease of Use
8.2
Effectiveness
8.4
Value for Money
6.4
PROS
  • It’s not harsh
  • Indoor and outdoor use
  • Good customer service
CONS
  • Smells
  • Doesn’t solve the problem permanently
  • Doesn’t work immediately
Add your review
We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Your total score

18 − 6 =