Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer

$56.15

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Hot Shot Spider & Scorpion Killer, Aerosol, 11-Ounce, 12-pack - $56.15
Price history
×
Price history for Hot Shot Spider & Scorpion Killer, Aerosol, 11-Ounce, 12-pack
Latest updates:
  • $56.15 - 15 June 2021
  • $55.65 - 10 June 2021
  • $54.70 - 3 June 2021
Since: 3 June 2021
  • Highest Price: $56.15 - 15 June 2021
  • Lowest Price: $54.70 - 3 June 2021
Last Amazon price update was: 15 June 2021 08:17
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Have spiders invaded your lovely home? Are you constantly irritated, frightened, or bored with the furry little creatures weaving their webs all over your house? Then you undoubtedly need a product that can help you get rid of the problem. Spider infestations are quite common in many places around the globe due to numerous factors. Like other pests, spiders get into houses for several reasons; the search for food and shelter included.

Products such as the Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer are derived from natural ingredients to maintain safety and effectiveness. However, are these products, and the Hot Shot, in particular, any good. Will they effectively get rid of spiders, or are they just some other overhyped solution? Our detailed review of this spray will help you decide whether it’s the ultimate spider-control product you have been looking for.

Overview

For a repellent such as the Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer to be considered ideal, it should combine specific attributes. These include good scent, high effectiveness levels, and ease of use, among others. Most products in the market have glaring shortcomings, is the Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer any better. Here is a brief look into the spray’s pros and cons.

Pros

  • Quite effective
  • Pocket-friendly price
  • Quite easy to use
  • Long lasting effects

Cons

  • Unpleasant, overpowering scent
  • Spray is too misty

What is Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer Made of?

The Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer is made from a water-based formula meant to have long-lasting effects up to 16 weeks after a round of spraying. To achieve the best results, one should spray the repellent on a spider’s body directly.

Our Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer review

My husband and I purchased the Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer upon my cousin’s recommendation. We hoped that the spray would end our seemingly endless spider problem. We have used the spray for three works now, and this review will detail our experience with the product over that period. We know that every user might have varying experiences, and this review will be solely based on ours. We will focus the review on five main customer-related factors; scent, thickness, ease of use, effectiveness, and value for money.

Scent (5.6/10)

I remember the first time we used this spray inside our bedroom. We had to open the windows and then leave the house for several hours, waiting for the smell to dissipate. Whatever the manufacturer uses in this spray does not smell pleasant at all. Since then, we have been spraying the house only when we plan on leaving soon after.

The Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer contains one of the unfriendliest scents I have experienced in a spider-control product, and trust me, I have encountered several. Unlike sprays based on common essential oils, this must contain an ingredient that is not very friendly on the nose.

Thickness (6.4/10)

Thickness is another factor on which the Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer has, so far, performed dismally. Our biggest misgiving with the thickness involves the overly misty spray that the nozzle outputs. We feel this is attributable to the spray’s thickness being overly low. Despite numerous tries, it seems impossible to get a non-misty directional spray with this product.

Once, when using the Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer against a Brown Recluse, the mist produced by the nozzle barely got to the spider, causing it to charge at me. In the end, I had to smash it with an old boot.

Ease of Use (8.4/10)

Using the Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer is as easy as aiming at a spider or whichever surface you want and pulling on the trigger-like bit near the nozzle. While this mechanism works all the time, I have a problem with the results I get when using it. The bottle does not contain any means of adjusting the fineness of the spray. Unfortunately, with the Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer, the mist is far too fine, making its overall use overly complicated.

Quite often, we have to get ridiculously close to spiders to spray them. This should not be the case with repellents meant to eradicate potentially dangerous creatures. Despite this, the entire spray mechanism is a joy to use.

Effectiveness (8.8/10)

While we have had major misgivings with several aspects of the Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer, we are quite impressed with its overall effectiveness. We live in an area prone to infestation by wide-ranging species of spiders. For the few weeks we have used the spray, we have encountered dead spiders in huge numbers. If you can manage to spray onto a spider’s body directly, then you are assured of its demise.

The Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer also seems to have a relatively long-lasting effect. We noticed that spiders kept dying on surfaces we had not sprayed for days, which pointed to an effective residual effect. Our only qualm with the spray’s effectiveness involves the amount used. We have to use significantly more spray for giant spiders to get the job done than we would with other brands we have tried.

Value for Money (7.6/10)

You can probably tell that we are on the fence regarding the Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer. On the one hand, its effectiveness and ease of use are quite acceptable. However, it is dismal when it comes to scent and thickness. I am particularly quite put off by its unpleasant smell. My husband and I agree that it should have a friendlier scent and better output for the product’s price.

I wouldn’t say that the product provides good value for money since the benefits somehow equal the benefits. We feel that we would feel happier with our purchase of another product.

Final Verdict 7.4

The Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer is in no way our favorite spider-control product. Once we are done with the bottle we have, we will not make a repeat purchase. However, keep in mind that this is because a spray’s scent and thickness are paramount. On the other hand, if you place ease of use and effectiveness about the aforementioned attributes, then the Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer could very well work for you.

After weighing the spray’s pros and cons, we gave it a final score of 7.4/10.

[FAQ’s] Consumer Questions & Answers

I often encounter spiders on my bed. Is it okay to spray this product on my bedding?
Yes, you can spray the Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer under and around your mattress. However, make sure you do this several hours before your bedtime since the spray has a rather unpleasant smell that may disrupt your sleep.

I plan on using this indoors. Will it affect my pet dog?
No, it will not. The water-based formula in the spray is harmless to pets. However, you might need to find out whether your dog will hate the somewhat overpowering scent.

Does this spray kill the brown recluse?
Yes, it does. It also kills numerous other spider species, so you should feel confident using it in an area prone to a spider infestation.

what kind of spray does the product have? An aerosol mist or directional squirt?
The Hot Shot Spider and Scorpion Killer produces a very fine aerosol mist that is not really directional.

7.4 Total Score

Scent
5.6
Thickness
6.4
Ease of Use
8.4
Effectiveness
8.8
Value for Money
7.6
PROS
  • Quite effective
  • Pocket-friendly price
  • Quite easy to use
  • Long-lasting effects
CONS
  • Unpleasant, overpowering scent
  • Spray is too misty
Add your review
We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Your total score

one × two =