Combat Max Roach Killing Gel

$7.43 $12.84

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Combat Max Roach Killing Gel for Indoor and Outdoor Use, 1 Syringe, 2.1 Ounces - $7.43
Price history
×
Price history for Combat Max Roach Killing Gel for Indoor and Outdoor Use, 1 Syringe, 2.1 Ounces
Latest updates:
  • $7.43 - 17 February 2021
  • $7.80 - 11 February 2021
  • $7.93 - 26 January 2021
Since: 26 January 2021
  • Highest Price: $7.93 - 26 January 2021
  • Lowest Price: $7.43 - 17 February 2021
Last Amazon price update was: 24 February 2021 10:07
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Fighting roaches and pests can be such an exhausting battle. Some types are so resilient, it can take multiple different products and tries to get rid of them. Each time we find something that works, we feel the need to share it with you. That’s why today we want to give our detailed Combat Max Roach Killing Gel review so that you know what to expect.

Overview

We listed the bad and good sides of the gel you need to see first before we get more in-depth about every single aspect of this product.

Pros

  • Kills within hours
  • Doesn’t smell bad
  • Long-term protection

Cons

  • Thickness is not consistent among different syringes
  • Requires multiple applications
  • Hard to remove

What is Combat Max Roach Killing Gel Made of?

This roach killing gel is made of 0.01% Fipronil, the active ingredient, and 99.99% other ingredients. Fipronil is an insecticide with a broad spectrum that can kill fleas, ticks, ants, rootworms, roaches, mole crickets, beetles, weevils, termites, and more.

It targets the nervous system of pests and causes them to get into a state of hyperexcitation. This chemical kills the insects when they try eating it. By connecting to the nerve endings of their system, it attacks and kills. People and pets are not as prone to suffer from this insecticide as insects are, but you still have to be careful, keep it away from children and pets.

The Combat Max Roach Killing Gel comes packed in a 2.1 Oz syringe. When you want to use it, you simply need to remove the cap, depress the plunger, and target the places where you suspect that roaches are nesting, moving, and cracks in your walls or floor. This is how pests will get in touch with the chemical on their way to find food and water.

It’s also a great alternative to use outdoors, in your garage, yard, and around the house. The best spots to target are once again nests and places where the insects can enter your home. You can either apply it directly on a surface or on cardboard near the location that you’re targeting. Avoid direct sun exposure and water, as they will reduce the effectiveness of the gel.

Our Combat Max Roach Killing Gel review

If you’re interested in purchasing the gel, you probably want to know more about its efficacy, scent, use, and thickness. We review it in all these categories below, giving our honest scores.

Scent (8.2/10)

Finally, a product that does have a scent, but one that is not too harsh and won’t make your entire house smell like toxic chemicals. Since the manufacturer doesn’t mention anything about the packaging’s scent, we wanted to dig deeper before purchasing. That’s when we noticed that they left several comments online to customers asking about the smell, saying that it doesn’t have an odor to humans.

After finding this, we expected to receive a gel that doesn’t smell, but we were unpleasantly surprised when it did have a scent. Once again, this is not a bad smell, but it didn’t fulfill the scent-free expectations.

It’s in no way off-putting, so you shouldn’t worry about that. You can apply it when you’re home. You don’t have to leave the house or leave the windows open. You’ll mostly smell it while you’re near the application spot. Your pets, however, might sense it or try to eat it. Always keep them away and be very careful around pets and kids because it can be a harmful ingredient.

What’s even better, it does a great job killing roaches and other bugs and insects. It’s so hard to find a product that won’t smell awful and gets rid of pests. Considering all things above, our scent score is an 8.2 out of 10.

Thickness (8.2/10)

The thickness of the product made it easy to use without taking too much of our time. Since you only need to apply it at certain spots and cover cracks, it is a much better alternative than sprays. Spraying the entire house can be so time-consuming, and you’ll end up with painful fingers from pressing the bottle.

A very confusing moment for us is the difference in the consistency between two syringes of Combat Max Roach Killing Gel that we purchased simultaneously. One had a very thick consistency and was very hard to push out of the syringe.

The other one had a runny consistency and wouldn’t stop oozing out of the syringe after the application. We had to put the cap back on to keep it from completely running out of the tube. All of the other syringes had a thick consistency that wasn’t too thick or too runny, so it was very easy to work with them.

Anyways, the difference in thickness did not affect the gel’s effectiveness in any form of way. We would appreciate it if the seller paid attention to the consistency of quality for their product. The thinner form means there is a chance you’ll be wasting product, while the thick form can take more time and effort on your part.

Our whole team prefers using thick gels instead of sprays, so the grade for thickness for this product is an 8.2 out of 10.

Ease of Use (8.4/10)

The syringe is very easy to use, with all the instructions listed by the seller. To be 100% safe, don’t use it around children and pets. Also, keep it away from the reach of kids, someplace safe.

The first thing you need to do is remove the cap. It’s a protective one that will prevent the gel from drying. Apply little dots or lines on the surfaces where the pests come out. When you first use it, you only need around four dime-sized spots or several 1 ½ to 6-inch lines for one square yard. Don’t forget to put the cap back on after you’re done. Cover all the cracks and corners where the roaches hide.

The instructions say that you should check the gel after one month, be we were curious and checked it the next day. If it’s gone, you should reapply. If not, you check it after a month and reapply after three.

Despite the easy-to-use nature of the syringe, we still encountered some problems. And these two that we’ll mention are entirely contradicting. Yes, we’re surprised too, since we don’t exactly know how to explain it.

We ordered several syringes, just in case. One was a little hard to handle because the gel was so hard to eject off the tube. Another one kept oozing out of the tube, so we felt like we applied much more than necessary. It seems that the gel in these two tubes had two very different consistencies. However, it was still useful and did the job.

So, even if the product is a bit hard to squeeze, make sure you still use it because there will be no difference in the effectiveness.

Since the cleanup process is a bit tough and takes time, we found a hassle-free way to apply the Combat Max Roach Killing Gel. Just find cardboard, paper, or a paper towel roll that you can use and throw away later. Apply dots or lines of the gel, and that’s pretty much it.

When we applied it on our walls, once it became hard, we found it difficult to remove it. We eventually had to scrape it off and damage the wall. We highly recommend using it on cardboard, especially in visible spots of your home.

Although the brand says it’s easy to remove with a damp towel, that didn’t do it for us for the gel on our walls. If the bugs don’t eat it, you’re left with a residue that you can try taking off with a damp towel, but the chances are you’ll make a mess. That’s the primary reason why we opted to use cardboard or old lids that we don’t need anymore. You can simply throw them away, without the need to clean them.

Whenever you’re using the Combat Max Roach Killing Gel, wear gloves and keep it away from your skin and clothes. This product can stain textiles. Don’t ever apply it on surfaces where you prepare or keep food and utensils. If you get in touch with it, wash your hands with water and soap thoroughly.

Thanks to all the features listed above, we decided to rate the ease of using this gel with 8.4 out of 10.

Effectiveness (8.8/10)

We can review other pest-control features as much as we want, but at the end of the day, it’s all about its effectiveness. If it doesn’t kill the bugs, it doesn’t matter whether it smells nice or not. This is one of the best roach killer gels that we’ve tried so far, and we can’t stop raving about it.

After application, our next step was to check whether the roaches are eating the gel and whether we’ll notice dead roaches around the house. It turned out that they did eat it, and there were many dead insects close to where we applied the product.

It kills the roaches almost immediately, but not all of them. That’s why we had to reapply it several times over the upcoming days. From our experience, you should wait around a week before getting rid of the majority of the insects. Don’t conclude right away. Instead, give it some time to work.

If you live in a heavily infested house, maybe it will take a longer time. Anyways, this is a long-term solution, since we haven’t noticed any new roaches in months.

The effectiveness of this gel, in our opinion, is 8.8 out of 10. The reason why we’re giving this grade is because of the multiple applications that we had to do. It’s so easy to waste almost half of the product in the first week to see your house roach-free.

Value for Money (8.2/10)

When a product is worth your money and does exactly what it claims it will do, you’ll probably decide to purchase it over and over again. That’s why we always make sure to add this category to our reviews so that you’ll get a complete picture of what you’re getting if you order the Combat Max Roach Killing Gel.

So far, we’ve used the gel multiple times, and it proved its value. Since there isn’t a perfect product on the market, we would like to explain further why it got an 8.2 out of 10. The first thing that comes to mind is that you have to reapply it several times before it gets rid of all the roaches.

The price is not high. It’s just that there’s a chance that you’ll use it quite fast if you’re struggling with a hard infestation. It didn’t last us a very long time, although our problem was mild.

So, you might be wondering whether this is a gel that is worth your money. Our team’s final word is an 8.2 out of 10, meaning that it did a good job killing the bugs. Yes, there are slightly more affordable products that will also do the job. That’s why it got this grade.

Final verdict 8.4

If something works, there is no need to try a different alternative. Guided by those wise words, we will be rebuying the gel if we have to fight against roaches. It’s a very secure and trusted product, so why experiment with others.

This gel exceeded our expectations in terms of efficacy. The roaches are gone. However, we didn’t like the fact that we had to apply it several times. In terms of price, it’s relatively affordable. It does smell but doesn’t have that awful chemical scent.

Another disappointing moment was the difference in thickness between the two syringes bought at the same time. One was too thick and hard to squeeze out, while the other one was runny, and it was very easy to over-apply because of the consistency.

We want to wrap up this Combat Max Roach Killing Gel review with a final verdict of 8.4 out of 10. After very careful consideration, we decided that this is a product that we’ll purchase again when we have similar pest problems.

[FAQ’s] Consumer Questions & Answers

Can I use this gel in my kitchen?
Yes, you can use it in the kitchen, as long as kids and pets can’t get to it. The best way is to apply dots or lines on cardboard or lids that you don’t use anymore and place them inside your cupboards. Don’t forget to cover cracks from where the bugs come out.

Can I use the Combat Max Roach Killing Gel in the bathroom?
Yes, you can use it in the bathroom as well, as long as it doesn’t get wet. Apply it straight on the surfaces where you’ve noticed bugs or on cardboard. Make sure it doesn’t get in touch with water.

Should I remove the gel once it’s dry?
Yes, you should remove the leftovers of the gel that the roaches didn’t eat. The manufacturer recommends that you use a damp towel, which you’ll later throw away as well. When using cardboard or a lid, you can throw it away without cleaning the gel.

Will I see dead roaches after I’ve applied the gel?
Yes, you will probably see dead insects in some parts of your home, but don’t expect to see too many. This will probably happen during the first few days, and after that, you won’t be seeing any new roaches in your home.

8.4 Total Score

Scent
8.2
Thickness
8.2
Ease of Use
8.4
Effectiveness
8.8
Value for Money
8.2
PROS
  • Kills within hours
  • Doesn’t smell bad
  • Long-term protection
CONS
  • Thickness is not consistent among different syringes
  • Requires multiple applications
  • Hard to remove
Add your review
We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Your total score

nineteen − 12 =