Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel

$4.99 $6.99

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Last Amazon price update was: 19 September 2021 01:40
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

There are numerous types of ants out there, most of which can potentially wreak havoc in your household. These tiny insects live in colonies and use pheromone trails to get in and out of homes foraging food and irritating everyone. This explains why there are currently so many ant-control products in the market right now. One of these is the Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel.

Ant-control methods range from sprays to baits to electronic repellents. The different products vary in their levels of effectiveness, modes of action, and active ingredients. Unsurprisingly, all manufacturers try to promote their ant-control methods as the best. Is the Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel any good, and should you consider it when trying to decide on an ant-control method? Our detailed review of this product will certainly help you decide. We will evaluate the gel’s most notable upsides and downsides.

Overview

Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel employs quite an innovative technique in eliminating different types of ants. Conventionally, products such as ant repellent sprays kill ants by coming into direct contact with the insect’s body. On the other hand, the ant killing gel utilizes a slow-acting poison to ensure that an ant that consumes the gel lives long enough to get the gel back to the colony and poison other ants.

The Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel is potentially effective against numerous types of ants. These include Little Black Ants, White Footed, Pavement, Thief, Odorous House, Argentine, Carpenter, and Pharaoh Ants.

Pros

  • Highly effective
  • Easy to use
  • Child-proof
  • Extremely mild scent

Cons

  • Runs out very quickly
  • Hard to clean up
  • Not very pet-friendly
  • Slow-acting

What is Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel Made of?

The active ingredient in Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel is a compound known as Fipronil. In its most basic, Fipronil is a slow-acting poison that gives a poisoned insect enough time to get back to its harborage or colony. Against insects such as cockroaches, carcasses and feces of poisoned roaches often have enough residual poison to eliminate others in a particular harborage or nesting site.

Our Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel review

We recently bought the Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel in a two-pack of .95oz each. We used the product and will, therefore, outline our views and opinions regarding our experience. We acknowledge that these opinions might vary from one user to another, depending on certain aspects that affect usage and effectiveness. As such, all the opinions in this review are solely based on our usage of the gel. We will rate the product on five fronts: effectiveness, value for money, ease of use, scent, and thickness.

Scent (9.0/10)

In the ant-control market, the scent is arguably among the most paramount aspects of any product. You have probably ever come across a highly effective product whose scent you could not stand. Luckily, during our usage of the Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel, we never encountered any unpleasant smell emanating from the gel.

While we suspect there is enough of a scent to attract ants, it is certainly not strong enough to be discerned by the human nose. On this front, the Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel scores quite highly since its barely-existent scent makes it highly usable both outdoors and indoors.

Thickness (8.8/10)

Since it’s not a liquid, the Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel is expectedly a bit thick. This, by itself, is not a problem, though. Our biggest misgiving with the gel’s density involved how it came off the tube. Instead of forming a smooth line as with tubes of toothpaste, the gel came out in blobs. We also noted that the gel becomes runny when exposed to heat, so do not keep it near food.

We would squeeze the gel onto little pieces of tin foil instead of placing it directly onto household surfaces. We also noted that the gel’s thickness means that it runs out quite fast. Overall, the thickness is just right for ants to feed on and carry back to their colonies.

Ease of Use (9.0/10)

We purchased two packs of the Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel and expected them to be fairly easy to use. As expected, we had no problem squeezing the gel out of the tube. However, we did have a problem with how the gel got expelled from the tube. There were instances when we would push a little and get nothing. Upon pushing harder, the gel would come out in large blobs that then required spreading.

We also encountered quite a challenge trying to squeeze out the gel in a smooth line, something we found attributable to the plunger’s design. Near the end of our usage, we found that the plunger would leak some of the gel, forcing us to wipe it off. Besides these issues, everything worked as expected.

Effectiveness (9.0/10)

Before we purchased the Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel, we had a persistent ant problem in our kitchen. Regardless of how clean we left the kitchen surfaces, the ants would still show up after mealtimes for some reason. After our first application of the gel, we were blown away by the sheer number of ants that had clustered around the blobs of gel, hastily feeding on it.

After several hours, most of the ants had left, presumably back to the colony. By the following day, there were barely any ants. We squeezed additional gel on different spots, and for once in a very long time, there were no ants in our kitchen. We figured that something in the gel must taste or smell quite attractive to the ants for them to come out in such large numbers.

Judging by the effectiveness, we saw during our short stint with the Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel; we will be using it again if we ever reencounter an ant menace.

Value for Money (8.2/10)

One would be hard-pressed to find more impressive results than we did with the Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel. It does everything it says on the package; we would even go ahead and say it does much more. While there may be cheaper ant control solutions out there, we doubt many similar results.

However, we had one major misgiving with the product when it came to value for money. The amount of gel you get is disappointingly little, especially when packaged in the deceptively large syringe tube that the product comes in. After only a few plunges, we were shocked to find out that we were out of the gel. This means that you may have to end up purchasing more than you think you need to avoid disappointments.

Final Verdict 8.8

The Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel scored quite highly on all the review fronts, which speaks volumes about our pleasant experience with it. Even on aspects such as value for money and thickness below 9.0/10, the gel still scored decent points.

If you are willing to overlook the rather odd plunger mechanism and deceptively little gel amount, then the Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel will undoubtedly be a great purchase.

After evaluating the gel’s advantages and downsides, we assigned it a final score of 8.8/10.

[FAQ’s] Consumer Questions & Answers

Should I dilute this gel with water and use it as a spray for ants going up a tree near my house?
You do not need to dilute the gel or even spray it. From the way it works, squeezing several bits of the gel near the tree is enough to deal with the ant problem. The ants will be attracted to the gel, feed on it, and take it back to other ants in the colony. In a short while, your ant problem will be no more.

does this gel kill Pharaoh ants?
Yes, the Combat 10023400973061 Indoor and Outdoor Ant Killing Gel is quite effective against different ants, Pharaoh Ants.

Will the gel work against cockroaches?
Yes, the ant control version has the same active ingredient as the roach control version. However, the roach version will be more effective against roaches since it’s designed purposely for them.

Which kinds of ants does this gel kill?
The gel is effective against Little Black Ants, White Footed Ants, Pavement Ants, Thief Ants, Odorous House Ants, Argentine Ants, Carpenter Ants, and Pharaoh Ants.

Is the gel affected by heat?
Yes, the gel will become runny when exposed to heat.

8.8 Total Score

Scent
9.0
Thickness
8.8
Ease of Use
9.0
Effectiveness
9.0
Value for Money
8.2
PROS
  • Highly effective
  • Easy to use
  • Child-proof
  • Extremely mild scent
CONS
  • Runs out very quickly
  • Hard to clean up
  • Not very pet-friendly
  • Slow-acting
Add your review
We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Your total score

19 + seventeen =